26 EFFE Laureates announced

19 Jul 2017

The International Jury of EFFE selects 26 Laureates from amongst the 715 EFFE Labelled Festivals

Just in time of high summer festivals season, the European Festivals Association (EFA) reveals the selection of the EFFE Laureates: 26 festivals are highlighted from amongst the 715 EFFE Labelled Festivals by the EFFE International Jury for their exceptional quality, work, commitment and impact within their contexts and territories. These 26 festivals are in the run for the EFFE Award handed out on 18 September during the Arts Festivals Salon in Brussels, hosted by the Centre of Fine Arts – BOZAR.

In the coming weeks the stories behind these festivals will be revealed one by one on the EFFE website www.effe.eu.

Pawel Potoroczyn, chair of the final EFFE Jury meeting, is “delighted with the result which is representative for the whole EFFE Label list covering 39 countries. The geographical reach, diverse festivals’ scope and diversity in arts disciplines, as well as a strong social engagement, are reflected in these 26 EFFE Laureates celebrating the diverse festivals’ community all over Europe”.

The 26 EFFE Laureates (in alphabetical order) are:

  1. 12 Points, Ireland
  2. Walk&Talk Azores, Portugal
  3. Africtions - captured by Dance, Germany
  4. Altofest International Contemporary Live Arts, Italy
  5. ASALTO Zaragoza , Spain
  6. Athens Digital Arts Festival , Greece
  7. Bábkarská Bystrica TOUR - Double impulse, Slovakia
  8. Buffer Fringe Performing Arts Festival, Cyprus
  9. Edinburgh Festival Fringe, UK
  10. Edinburgh International Festival, UK
  11. European Film Festival Palic, Serbia
  12. Festival of Five Churches, Hungary
  13. Festival of Wonder, Denmark
  14. FMM Sines - Festival Músicas do Mundo, Portugal
  15. Gdansk Shakespeare Festival, Poland
  16. Gender Bender, Italy
  17. GOGOLFEST - International Annual Multidisciplinary International Festival of Contemporary Art, Ukraine
  18. International Theatre Festival - Varna Summer, Bulgaria
  19. Les Eurockéennes de Belfort, France
  20. Mittelfest, Italy
  21. Ravenna festival, Italy
  22. Tallinn Architecture Biennale , Estonia
  23. Tbilisi International Festival of Theatre, Georgia
  24. TANEC PRAHA - The International Festival of Contemporary Dance and Movement Theatre, Czech Republic
  25. Theaterfestival Boulevard 's-Hertogenbosch, Netherlands
  26. Utrecht Early Music Festival, Netherlands

NB: the festivals that received the EFFE Award in 2015 were not considered for nomination in this edition.

The EFFE International Festival Jury members are: Sir Jonathan Mills (Chairman EFFE International Jury, composer and former Director Edinburgh International Festival – Australia, UK), Tamar Brüggeman (Co-Director Wonderfeel - Netherlands), Peter Florence (Director Hay Festivals – UK), Keng Sen Ong (Festival Director Singapore International Festival of Arts - Singapore), Haris Pašović (Theater director, Director East West Centre Sarajevo – Bosnia and Herzegovina), Pawel Potoroczyn (CEO of University SWPS in Warsaw - Poland), Renato Quaglia (General Manager FOQUS Foundation - Italy), Irene Rossi (Couleur Café - Belgium), Fruzsina Szép (Festival Director Lollapalooza Berlin and Board member Yourope - Hungary).

Find more details about the EFFE International Jury here.